Kathryn Falk

Kathryn Falk joined Cox Communications of Northern Virginia in September of 2002 and currently serves as the Vice President of Public and Government Affairs. Her areas of responsibility include local, and state government affairs, community affairs, media relations and employee communications. She leads a team that has been honored with several Beacon awards from the CTPPA, and Cox Impact awards. She had previously served for five years as the President of the Virginia Cable Telecommunications Association (VCTA). From 1992-1997, Kathryn was the Vice President for Government Relations for the National Exchange Carrier Association whose membership includes all of the nations local exchange carriers or local telephone companies. In this role she was responsible for of the operations of the Washington office, lobbying at the Federal Communications Commission, Congress, agencies, departments and each of the 50 states regulatory authority. Before her term at NECA, Kathryn was the chief Washington lobbyist for the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) on telecommunications and transportation issues. Prior to NARUC, Kathryn worked in England for a Member of Parliament, Sir Eldon Griffiths from Bury St. Edmonds and as an aide in Washington to United States Senator Dennis DeConcini of Arizona. Kathryn was born in El Paso, Texas, and is a graduate of Randolph-Macon Woman’s College in Lynchburg, Virginia, where she studied politics and communications. She currently serves as the Immediate Past President of the Washington-Baltimore Chapter of Women In Cable Telecommunications (WICT), and on the Board of the Virginia Cable Telecommunications Association, the NOVA Business Political Action Committee, and the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce’s Women’s Business Council Steering Committee. In 2006, she was honored as with the NCTA’s Vanguard Award for Young Leadership in the cable industry. She is a Member, WICT, the Cable and Telecommunications Marketing Association, Cable Television Public Affairs Association and NCTA’s Cable PAC. She is a recipient of the J.L. Johnson-Roger Beane Award for Pioneering Efforts in Cable TV in VA, the Joseph Price Award of Distinguished Service in Government Affairs and the Woman of the Year Award from the Zonta Club International of Fairfax County.