Recognizing PAR Excellence In 2012, the WICT Signature Luncheon highlighted those companies that are leading the way in practicing gender diversity by honoring the 2011 PAR Best Companies for Women in Cable Telecommunications. The event featured a keynote address by Iris Bohnet, Ph.D., Academic Dean and Professor of Public Policy at the Harvard Kennedy School and director of the Women and Public Policy Program. Celebrity stylist and fashion expert Jeannie Mai, of Style's "How Do I Look," served as host. Salaam Coleman Smith, President, Style Media, served as Honorary Chair. (Pictured above L to R) Maria Brennan, Kathy Payne, Iris Bohnet, & Salaam Coleman Smith(all photos by Darren McCollester/Getty Images for WICT) Iris Bohnet, Ph.D., congratulated the cable industry for its diversity efforts, which provide a model for other industries to follow. She spoke about the importance of gender diversity in the workplace and how it affects companies’ bottom lines, as well as the fact that the business case for diversity is also about making the world a better place for future generations.  The PAR Accolades went to:  Programmers: NBCUniversal, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., Scripps Networks Interactive, Discovery Communications and ESPN.  Operators: Time Warner Cable, Cox Communications, Comcast, Bright House Networks and Suddenlink Communications.

 Top Programmer, NBCUniversal, "Celebrates Diversity"

 (Pictured above L to R) Honorees & presenters at the 2012 WICT Signature Luncheon: Steve Miron, CEO, Bright House Networks; Salaam Coleman Smith, President, Style Media; Kathy Payne, WICT Chair & VP, Content Acquisition, COX Communications; John Lansing, President, Scripps Networks; Jerry Kent, Chairman & CEO, Suddenlink Communications; Paul Richardson, SVP, Human Resources, ESPN, Inc. & Chief Diversity Officer, The Walt Disney Company; Glenn Britt, Chairman & CEO, Time Warner Cable; Iris Bohnet, Ph.D., Academic Dean and Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School; Bridget Baker, President, TV Networks Distribution; Mary Meduski, EVP & CFO, Suddenlink Communications; Kelly Regal, Executive Vice President, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.; Pat Esser, President, Cox Communications; Maria Brennan, President & CEO, Women in Cable Telecommunications; D'Arcy Rudnay, Chief Communications Officer & SVP, Comcast; Jeannie Mai, Celebrity Stylist & Host of Style's "How Do I Look"; David Zaslav (not pictured), President & CEO, Discovery Communications.

 Glenn Britt, Chairman & CEO Time Warner Cable

 (Pictured above L to R) Members of WICT Board of Directors: Comcast's Sherita Ceasar & Martha Soehren, and Mary Meduski, Suddenlink Communications

(Pictured above L to R) Cox Communications' Rhonda Taylor, Jill Campbell, and Kathryn Falk

  Special thanks to our volunteers from the WICT New England Chapter for their help in making the WICT Signature Luncheon a huge success!

Click here to learn more about The WICT PAR Initiative.